Section: Staff Profiles

All Staff

Core Staff

Name Title Contact Information
Kanchana Ruwanpura Reader in Development Geography; Co-Director Centre of South Asian Studies 1.13B, Institute of Geography
Drummond Street
kanchana.ruwanpura@ed.ac.uk
Wilfried Swenden Senior Lecturer in Politics; Co-Director Centre of South Asian Studies 3.05 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4255
W.Swenden@ed.ac.uk
Talat Ahmed Lecturer in South Asian History 00M.33 William Robertson Wing, Old Medical School
Teviot Place
T.Ahmed@ed.ac.uk
Naomi Appleton Chancellor's Fellow, Religious Studies New College
The Mound
Naomi.Appleton@ed.ac.uk
Crispin Bates Professor of Modern and Contemporary South Asian History; School of History, Classics and Archaeology 1.23 William Robertson Wing, Old Medical School
Teviot Place
+44 (0)131 650 3765
Crispin.Bates@ed.ac.uk
Jacob Copeman Senior Lecturer 5.03 Chrystal Macmillan Building
+44 (0)131 6506860
Jamie Cross Senior Lecturer, Social Anthropology; Associate Dean (Knowledge Exchange and Impact), College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences Room 5.28 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
Office: +44(0)1316515181 Mobile: +44(0)7552817310
jamie.cross@ed.ac.uk
Paul Dundas Reader in Sanskrit G1
7 Buccleuch Place
P.Dundas@ed.ac.uk
Stefan Ecks 4.28 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 6969
Stefan.Ecks@ed.ac.uk
Anthony Good Professor Emeritus; Professorial Fellow Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
A.Good@ed.ac.uk
Hugo Gorringe Senior Lecturer, Sociology; Convenor for Sociology 2a: Thinking Sociologically 1.02, Number 22
George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3940
h.gorringe@ed.ac.uk
Radhika Govinda Lecturer in Sociology; On Course Postgraduate Advisor, Sociology 6.21 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 650 3906
Radhika.Govinda@ed.ac.uk
Christopher Harding Lecturer in Asian History Room 2.23, Doorway 4, Teviot Place
+44(0)131 650 9960
Christopher.Harding@ed.ac.uk
Ian Harper Professor of Anthropology of Health and Development; Director, Edinburgh Centre for Medical Anthropology (EdCMA) 6.07 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3816
ian.harper@ed.ac.uk
Lotte Hoek Senior Lecturer, Social Anthropology 5.01 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 6544
lotte.hoek@ed.ac.uk
Hephzibah Israel Lecturer in Translation Studies 10.08 David Hume Tower
George Square
H.Israel@ed.ac.uk
Sumeet Jain Lecturer in Social Work 2.30 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 651 1463
sumeet.jain@ed.ac.uk
Patricia Jeffery Professor (Emerita), Sociology Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
P.Jeffery@ed.ac.uk
Roger Jeffery Professor of Sociology of South Asia; Associate Director, Edinburgh India Institute Room 2, 22A Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 3976
R.Jeffery@ed.ac.uk
Anuj Kapilashrami Lecturer in Global Health Policy, Programme Director for MSc. in Global Health & Public Policy Associate Director, Global Development Academy 2.20 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 1316511929
anuj.kapilashrami@ed.ac.uk
Arkotong Longkumer Lecturer in Religious Studies +44 (0)131 650 8781
A.Longkumer@ed.ac.uk
Sidharthan Maunaguru Newton Fellow 5.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
George Palattiyil Programme Director - Masters in Social Work 2.24 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3907
g.palattiyil@ed.ac.uk
Shishusri Pradhan Lecturer in International Development; Programme Director for the MSc in International Development (Incoming Students) 4.10 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 5677
spradhan@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Jeevan Sharma Lecturer in South Asia and International Development; Deputy Director- Global Development Academy 5.01 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 6511760
jeevan.sharma@ed.ac.uk
Yuthika Sharma Lecturer in Indian/South Asian Art History Yuthika.sharma@ed.ac.uk
Jonathan Spencer Regius Professor of South Asian Language, Culture and Society 5.02 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3944
jonathan.spencer@ed.ac.uk
Neil Thin Senior Lecturer, Social Anthropology; Deputy Director of the Undergraduate School (Progression and Student Experience) 5.27 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3880
n.thin@ed.ac.uk
Asanga Welikala Lecturer in Public Law Asanga.welikala@ed.ac.uk

Fellows

Name Title Contact Information
John Brockington Honorary Fellow J.L.Brockington@ed.ac.uk
Bashabi Fraser Honorary Fellow, CSAS B.Fraser@napier.ac.uk
Margret Frenz Honorary Fellow

Associates

Name Title Contact Information
Monalisa Adhikari Manager, Edinburgh and Lothians Regional Equality Council adhikarimonalisa@gmail.com
Radha Adhikari Research Associate CSAS radhaadhikari@yahoo.com
Ron Asher Professor Emeritus in Linguistics, University of Edinburgh r.e.asher@ed.ac.uk
Marina Carter School of History, Classics and Archaeology and CSAS marina.carter@ed.co.uk
Duncan B. Forrester Emeritus Professor of Divinity, University of Edinburgh D.Forrester@ed.ac.uk
Peter B. Freshwater Retired Deputy Librarian, University of Edinburgh peter@hillfoot.demon.co.uk
Anindita Ghosh Lecturer in Modern Indian History anindita.ghosh@manchester.ac.uk
John Henley Emeritus Professor, International Business j.henley@ed.ac.uk
Rachel Hinton Research Consultant in Social Anthropology R-Hinton@dfid.gov.uk
Aya Ikegame Honorary Fellow, CSAS Aya.Ikegame@ed.ac.uk
Chandrika Kaul Lecturer in British and Imperial History, University of St. Andrews ck24@st-andrews.ac.uk
Andrea Major Lecturer in Wider World History , University of Leeds Room 352 William Robertson Building
A.Major@leeds.ac.uk
Sarah Nayani Specialist in peacebuilding and Sri Lanka; Evaluation Manager, NHS Dumfries & Galloway sarahnayani@gmail.com
Daniel O'Connor Former Lecturer at St Stephen's, Delhi University: Hon Research Fellow, New College danoconnor@btinternet.com
Chris Ogden Honorary Fellow , CSAS cco2@st-andrews.ac.uk
Paul Routledge Reader in Geography, Glasgow University proutledge@geog.glas.ac.uk
Salla Sariola Research Associate , Anthropology, University of Durham salla.sariola@durham.ac.uk
Neelam Srivastava Senior Lecturer in Postcolonial Literature, University of Newcastle Neelam.Srivastava@newcastle.ac.uk
Deborah Sutton Lecturer in History, Lancaster University D.Sutton@lancaster.ac.ukl
Richard W Whitecross Honorary Fellow in Social Anthropology 0131 244 2094
Richard.Whitecross@scotland.gsi.gov.uk
Kim Wagner Lecturer in Global History, Queen Mary University of London Kim.ati.wagner@googlemail.com

Accessibility menu