Skip to main content

Centre for South Asian Studies: About Us

Search

Staff Profiles

Co-Directors and Secretariat

Name Title Contact Information
Talat Ahmed Lecturer in South Asian History 1.25 William Robertson Wing, Old Medical School
Teviot Place
T.Ahmed@ed.ac.uk
Hugo Gorringe Senior Lecturer, Sociology; Co-director - Centre of South Asian Studies 1.02, Number 22 
George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3940
h.gorringe@ed.ac.uk
Ada Munns Centre Secretary, Centre for South Asian Studies,Centre of Canadian Studies, SKAPE, Network Facilitator, Leverhulme Project 1.14 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 6504129
Ada.Munns@ed.ac.uk

Associated Staff

Name Title Contact Information
Naomi Appleton Chancellor's Fellow, Religious Studies New College
The Mound
Naomi.Appleton@ed.ac.uk
Clare Barnes Interdisciplinary lecturer in Sustainable Livelihoods G.22b Drummond Library 
0131 650 2287
c.barnes@ed.ac.uk
Crispin Bates Professor of Modern and Contemporary South Asian History; School of History, Classics and Archaeology 1.23 William Robertson Wing, Old Medical School
Teviot Place
+44 (0)131 650 3765
Crispin.Bates@ed.ac.uk
Jacob Copeman Senior Lecturer 5.03 Chrystal Macmillan Building
+44 (0)131 6506860
Jamie Cross Senior Lecturer, Social Anthropology; Associate Dean (Knowledge Exchange and Impact), College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences Room 5.28 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
Office: +44(0)1316515181 Mobile: +44(0)7552817310
jamie.cross@ed.ac.uk
Paul Dundas Reader in Sanskrit G1 
7 Buccleuch Place
P.Dundas@ed.ac.uk
Stefan Ecks Senior Lecturer; Deputy Director (PG Taught) 4.28 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 6969
Stefan.Ecks@ed.ac.uk
Agomoni Ganguli Mitra Chancellor's Fellow in Legal & Ethical Aspects of Biomedicine, Co-Director, Mason Institute for Medicine, Life Science and the Law +44(0)131 650 9718
Agomoni.Ganguli-Mitra@ed.ac.uk
Giovanna Gioli Interdisciplinary Lecturer in Disasters, School of Geosciences g.gioli@ed.ac.uk
Anthony Good Professor Emeritus Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
A.Good@ed.ac.uk
Radhika Govinda Lecturer in Sociology; On Course Postgraduate Advisor in Sociology 6.21 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 650 3906
Radhika.Govinda@ed.ac.uk
Christopher Harding Lecturer in Asian History Room 2.23, Doorway 4, Teviot Place 
+44(0)131 650 9960
Christopher.Harding@ed.ac.uk
Ian Harper Professor of Anthropology of Health and Development 6.07 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3816
ian.harper@ed.ac.uk
Lotte Hoek Head of Subject; Senior Lecturer, Social Anthropology 5.23 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 6544
lotte.hoek@ed.ac.uk
Juli Huang Lecturer in Anthropology of Development 5.10 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4269
juli.huang@ed.ac.uk
Delwar Hussain Lecturer and Chancellors Fellow George Square
+44 (0)131 651 5071
delwar.hussain@ed.ac.uk
Hephzibah Israel Lecturer in Translation Studies 10.08 David Hume Tower
George Square
H.Israel@ed.ac.uk
Sumeet Jain Senior Lecturer in Social Work; International Director, School of Social and Political Science 2.29 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 651 1463
sumeet.jain@ed.ac.uk
Patricia Jeffery Professor (Emerita), Sociology Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
P.Jeffery@ed.ac.uk
Roger Jeffery Professor of Sociology of South Asia; Associate Director, Edinburgh India Institute Room 2, 22A Buccleuch Place 
+44 (0)131 650 3976
R.Jeffery@ed.ac.uk
Anuj Kapilashrami Senior Lecturer in Global Health Policy; Associate Director, Global Development Academy anuj.kapilashrami@ed.ac.uk
Harshan Kumarasingham Senior Lecturer in British Politics 3.04 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 4750
Harshan.Kumarasingham@ed.ac.uk
Arkotong Longkumer Lecturer in Religious Studies +44 (0)131 650 8781
A.Longkumer@ed.ac.uk
George Palattiyil Programme Director - Masters in Social Work 2.24 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3907
g.palattiyil@ed.ac.uk
Ayaz Qureshi Lecturer in Medical Anthropology 5.02 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 5361
ayaz.qureshi@ed.ac.uk
Kanchana Ruwanpura Reader in Development Geography; Co-Director Centre of South Asian Studies 1.13B, Institute of Geography 
Drummond Street
kanchana.ruwanpura@ed.ac.uk
Jeevan Sharma Senior Lecturer in South Asia and International Development & Director of Research (School of Social and Political Science) 5.01 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 6511760
jeevan.sharma@ed.ac.uk
Yuthika Sharma Lecturer in Indian/South Asian Art History Yuthika.sharma@ed.ac.uk
Jonathan Spencer Regius Professor of South Asian Language, Culture and Society 3F1, 3.24 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 3944
jonathan.spencer@ed.ac.uk
Krithika Srinivasan Lecturer in Human Geography 3.16, Institute of Geography 
Drummond Street
+44 (0)131 651 4311
K.Srinivasan@ed.ac.uk
Sam Staddon ESRC Global Challenges Research Fund Fellow, Lecturer in Environment & Development, School of GeoSciences G.01, Drummond Street 
+44 (0)131 650 2269
Sam.Staddon@ed.ac.uk
Wilfried Swenden Senior Lecturer in Politics 3.05 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4255
W.Swenden@ed.ac.uk
Asanga Welikala Lecturer in Public Law Asanga.welikala@ed.ac.uk

Fellows and Associates

Name Title Contact Information
John Brockington Honorary Fellow J.L.Brockington@ed.ac.uk
Dean Nelson Honorary Fellow deannelson1@mac.com
Bashabi Fraser Honorary Fellow, CSAS B.Fraser@napier.ac.uk
Aya Ikegame Honorary Fellow, CSAS Aya.Ikegame@ed.ac.uk
Gael Robertson Honorary Fellow, CSAS gaelrobertson@gmail.com
Dina Sidhva Honorary Fellow, CSAS dina.sidhva@ed.ac.uk