Skip to main content

Centre for South Asian Studies: About Us

Search

Staff Profiles

Co-Directors and Secretariat

Name Title Contact Information
Ada Munns Centre Secretary, Centre for South Asian Studies,Centre of Canadian Studies, SKAPE, Network Facilitator, Leverhulme Project G.05B Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 6504129
Ada.Munns@ed.ac.uk
Kanchana Ruwanpura Reader in Development Geography; Co-Director Centre of South Asian Studies 1.13B, Institute of Geography 
Drummond Street
kanchana.ruwanpura@ed.ac.uk
Wilfried Swenden Senior Lecturer in Politics; Co-Director Centre of South Asian Studies 3.05 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4255
W.Swenden@ed.ac.uk

Associated Staff

Name Title Contact Information
Talat Ahmed Lecturer in South Asian History 00M.33 William Robertson Wing, Old Medical School
Teviot Place
T.Ahmed@ed.ac.uk
Naomi Appleton Chancellor's Fellow, Religious Studies New College
The Mound
Naomi.Appleton@ed.ac.uk
Clare Barnes Interdisciplinary lecturer in Sustainable Livelihoods G.22b Drummond Library 
0131 650 2287
c.barnes@ed.ac.uk
Crispin Bates Professor of Modern and Contemporary South Asian History; School of History, Classics and Archaeology 1.23 William Robertson Wing, Old Medical School
Teviot Place
+44 (0)131 650 3765
Crispin.Bates@ed.ac.uk
Jacob Copeman Senior Lecturer 5.03 Chrystal Macmillan Building
+44 (0)131 6506860
Jamie Cross Senior Lecturer, Social Anthropology; Associate Dean (Knowledge Exchange and Impact), College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences Room 5.28 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
Office: +44(0)1316515181 Mobile: +44(0)7552817310
jamie.cross@ed.ac.uk
Paul Dundas Reader in Sanskrit G1 
7 Buccleuch Place
P.Dundas@ed.ac.uk
Stefan Ecks 4.28 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 6969
Stefan.Ecks@ed.ac.uk
Giovanna Gioli Interdisciplinary Lecturer in Disasters, School of Geosciences g.gioli@ed.ac.uk
Anthony Good Professor Emeritus; Professorial Fellow Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
A.Good@ed.ac.uk
Hugo Gorringe Senior Lecturer, Sociology; Convenor for Sociology 2a: Thinking Sociologically 1.02, Number 22 
George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3940
h.gorringe@ed.ac.uk
Radhika Govinda Lecturer in Sociology; On Course Postgraduate Advisor in Sociology 6.21 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 650 3906
Radhika.Govinda@ed.ac.uk
Christopher Harding Lecturer in Asian History Room 2.23, Doorway 4, Teviot Place 
+44(0)131 650 9960
Christopher.Harding@ed.ac.uk
Ian Harper Professor of Anthropology of Health and Development; Director, Edinburgh Centre for Medical Anthropology (EdCMA) 6.07 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3816
ian.harper@ed.ac.uk
Lotte Hoek Senior Lecturer, Social Anthropology 5.01 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 6544
lotte.hoek@ed.ac.uk
Juli Huang Lecturer in Anthropology of Development 5.10 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4269
juli.huang@ed.ac.uk
Delwar Hussain Lecturer and Chancellors Fellow George Square
+44 (0)131 651 5071
delwar.hussain@ed.ac.uk
Hephzibah Israel Lecturer in Translation Studies 10.08 David Hume Tower
George Square
H.Israel@ed.ac.uk
Sumeet Jain Lecturer in Social Work; International Director, School of Social and Political Science 2.02 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 651 1463
sumeet.jain@ed.ac.uk
Patricia Jeffery Professor (Emerita), Sociology Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
P.Jeffery@ed.ac.uk
Roger Jeffery Professor of Sociology of South Asia; Associate Director, Edinburgh India Institute Room 2, 22A Buccleuch Place 
+44 (0)131 650 3976
R.Jeffery@ed.ac.uk
Anuj Kapilashrami Lecturer in Global Health Policy; Associate Director, Global Development Academy 2.20 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 1316511929
anuj.kapilashrami@ed.ac.uk
Harshan Kumarasingham Lecturer in British Politics 3.04 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 4750
Harshan.Kumarasingham@ed.ac.uk
Arkotong Longkumer Lecturer in Religious Studies +44 (0)131 650 8781
A.Longkumer@ed.ac.uk
George Palattiyil Programme Director - Masters in Social Work 2.24 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3907
g.palattiyil@ed.ac.uk
Ayaz Qureshi Lecturer in Medical Anthropology 5.02 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 5361
ayaz.qureshi@ed.ac.uk
Jeevan Sharma Senior Lecturer in South Asia and International Development; Deputy Director- Global Development Academy 5.01 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 6511760
jeevan.sharma@ed.ac.uk
Yuthika Sharma Lecturer in Indian/South Asian Art History Yuthika.sharma@ed.ac.uk
JP Singh Chair and Professor of Culture and Political Economy; Director, Institute for International Cultural Relations 22 George Square
44(0)131 651 1624
JP.Singh@ed.ac.uk
Jonathan Spencer Regius Professor of South Asian Language, Culture and Society 3F1, 3.24 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 3944
jonathan.spencer@ed.ac.uk
Krithika Srinivasan Lecturer in Human Geography 3.16, Institute of Geography 
Drummond Street
+44 (0)131 651 4311
K.Srinivasan@ed.ac.uk
Sam Staddon ESRC Global Challenges Research Fund Fellow, Lecturer in Environment & Development, School of GeoSciences G.01, Drummond Street 
+44 (0)131 650 2269
Sam.Staddon@ed.ac.uk
Asanga Welikala Lecturer in Public Law Asanga.welikala@ed.ac.uk

Fellows and Associates

Name Title Contact Information
Radha Adhikari Research Associate CSAS radhaadhikari@yahoo.com
John Brockington Honorary Fellow J.L.Brockington@ed.ac.uk
Marina Carter School of History, Classics and Archaeology and CSAS marina.carter@ed.co.uk
Dean Nelson Honorary Fellow deannelson1@mac.com
Bashabi Fraser Honorary Fellow, CSAS B.Fraser@napier.ac.uk
Aya Ikegame Honorary Fellow, CSAS Aya.Ikegame@ed.ac.uk
Chris Ogden Honorary Fellow , CSAS cco2@st-andrews.ac.uk
Dina Sidhva Honorary Fellow, CSAS dina.sidhva@ed.ac.uk